jump to navigation

Kuala Lumpur Protest Against C. Rice/US (2) July 28, 2006

Posted by elizabethwong in Current Affairs, International, Malaysia, Photography, Photojournalism, Politics.
trackback

pldude.jpg SECOND DAY OF PROTEST:
Thousands marched for more than 3 km yesterday afternoon in the pelting rain, stopping briefly at the Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, where the Asean Regional Forum is being held and C. Rice was speaking, and later playing the piano!

The rally ended outside the US Embassy and despite the rain, everyone demonstrated for 2 hours.

There were PAS, KeADILan supporters, NGOs and even Shi’ites were out on the streets.

I was completely soaked for three hours. I didn’t have a lens hood, so my camera was drenched too.

Halfway, I ditched my tiny umbrella in favour of a large hairband, because the umbrella wasn’t doing anything to stop me from getting wet.

Alright, it was girly-pink too.

prayer.jpg
Prayers for Lebanon and Palestine

crowd.jpg
Fists of fury

khomeini.jpg
Family of protestors

Comments»

1. usmediaweb - » Kuala Lumpur Protest Against C. Rice/US (2) - July 29, 2006

[...] by elizabethwong [...]

2. Mario - July 30, 2006

You need an underwater camera :) I hope the protest still remains peaceful these are fury days…

3. tuna - August 4, 2006

Drenched by down pour in hot humid tropics… smells like a brewing fever ahead.

4. Jeeu Teck - August 5, 2006

It’s a very nice blog you have, Elizabeth. Hi, my name is Jeeu Teck. I think I first came across your writings on Malaysiakini. Do drop by my blog http://jteck.blogspot.com/. Keep up the good work and nice to meet you!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

